Professional In-Vitro Technologies

P.R.I.T. Professional In-Vitro Technologies

Joint solution by Fraunhofer Institutes ITEM and SCAI

Airborne substances constantly surround us in our daily life: during leisure time, at the workplace, out in nature, and also at home. Our contact with these substances occurs primarily via the skin and the airways. With up to 2 m² (skin) and up to 100 m² (lung), these organs provide huge surfaces where such contact can take place.

Contact of the skin’s surface or the inner surface of the lung with airborne substances can be intentional, for example to achieve a pharmacological effect. Administration of a drug such as an asthma inhaler or a nasal spray is an example of this. The intention can also be a cosmetic effect, for example when applying fragrances, antiperspirants, skin care products, or sunscreen sprays.

If contact is unwanted, the reason why is often that a toxicological effect is expected. This can hold true for substances in the ambient air (exhaust gas, pollen, cigarette smoke …), at workplaces (printer emissions, welding fumes, manufacturing processes …), but also in private homes (emissions from carpets or furniture, painting and grinding during home renovation etc.).

Understanding the biological effects of all these substances is important, so as to protect our health and avoid or mitigate hazards by taking appropriate measures. Just like chemicals, which require toxicological characterization before they can be marketed in Europe, it is important to comprehensively investigate these substances as well.
 
Until recently, tests for this purpose had to be performed above all in experimental animals.The P.R.I.T.® technology now provides a meaningful, alternative in-vitro test method based on cell cultures for toxicological testing of airborne substances from a large variety of sources.

 

News

  • 12th-16th March 2017: P.R.I.T.® at the "SOT 56th Annual Meeting and ToxExpo 2017" in Baltimore (USA)
  • 10th of November 2016: Workshop "Cell-based in-vitro methods for investigations on biological effects of inhalable compounds" in Hannover, Germany. More information
 

Application Area

The cell-based test methods can be used with a large diversity of test substances, including chemical gases, volatile substances, pharmaceutical sprays, exhaust gases, fumes and many others.

Technology

The innovative and patented P.R.I.T.® technologies enable the use of cell cultures and tissues as air-lifted interface for testing (cellular alterations) of inhalable substances from the most different sources under appropriate conditions according to the...

 

current state of scientific knowledge.

Expertise

For the performance of tests and customization of the method to fit your specific problems, a competent team from Fraunhofer ITEM and SCAI with many years of experience is available. We can offer you a broad spectrum of in-vitro specific...

 

know-how.

Publications

P.R.I.T.® technologies have already been used successfully to explore a broad range of different problems. We will be happy to provide you with details from projects that do not fall under confidentiality agreements.

Services

We offer a comprehensive portfolio of methods and expertise for the design, development, and performance of any investigations in the context of biological effects of airborne substances in vitro.

Professionelle In-Vitro Technologien

P.R.I.T. Professionelle In-Vitro Technologien

Gemeinsame Lösung der Fraunhofer Institute ITEM und SCAI

Luftgetragene Substanzen umgeben uns ständig in unserem täglichen Leben: in der Freizeit, am Arbeitsplatz, in der Natur genauso wie zu Hause. Sie kommen vorwiegend über unsere Haut und unsere Atemwege mit uns in Kontakt. Diese Organe stellen mit bis zu 2 m² (Haut) bzw. bis zu 100 m² (Lunge) riesige Oberflächen dar, an denen der Kontakt stattfinden kann.

Der Kontakt der Hautoberfläche bzw. der inneren Lungenoberfläche mit Substanzen aus der Luft kann gewollt sein, dann spricht man auch von einer pharmakologischen Wirkung. Dies geschieht zum Beispiel bei Einnahme eines Medikamentes (z.B. Asthma- oder Nasenspray). Es kann auch eine kosmetische Wirkung gewollt sein (z.B. durch Duftstoffe aus Parfüms, Deos, hautpflegende Substanzen oder Sonnensprays).

Ist der Kontakt nicht gewollt, so rechnet man mit einer toxikologischen Wirkung. Dies kann für Substanzen aus der Umwelt gelten (z.B. Abgase, Pollen, Zigarettenrauch…), am Arbeitsplatz (Druckeremissionen, Schweissrauche, Produktionsprozesse, …), aber auch zu Hause (Ausdünstungen aus Teppichböden, Möbeln, bei Renovierungsarbeiten wie Malerarbeiten, Schleifarbeiten und andere).

Erkenntnisse über die biologische Wirkung all dieser Substanzen sind wichtig, um unsere Gesundheit zu schützen und durch angemessene Maßnahmen Gefährdungen zu vermeiden oder zu reduzieren. Ebenso wie für Chemikalien, die in Europa vor dem Inverkehrbringen toxikologisch charakterisiert werden müssen, ist es wichtig, luftgetragene Substanzen eingehend zu untersuchen.

Bis vor kurzer Zeit waren dazu vorrangig tierexperimentelle Untersuchungen notwendig. Die P.R.I.T.® Technologie ermöglicht aussagekräftige toxikologische Untersuchungen verschiedenster luftgetragener Substanzen auf Basis alternativer Testmethoden.

Aktuell

  • 12.-16. März 2017: P.R.I.T.® auf der "SOT 56th Annual Meeting and ToxExpo 2017" in Baltimore (USA)
  • 10.November 2016: Workshop "Zellbasierte In-vitro-Untersuchungsmethoden zu biologischen Wirkungen inhalierbarer Substanzen" in Hannover. Mehr Informationen
 

Anwendungsgebiete

Die zellbasierten Untersuchungsme-thoden können mit den unterschied-lichsten Prüfsubstanzen angewendet werden: z.B. chemische Gase, flüchtige Substanzen, pharmazeutische Sprays, Abgase und Rauche.

Technologie

Die innovativen und patentierten P.R.I.T.® Technologien ermöglichen den Einsatz von Zellkulturen und Geweben als Air-lifted Interface (ALI) Kulturen zur Testung (zellulärer Veränderungen) von inhalierbaren Substanzen aus den verschiedensten ...

 

Quellen und unter adäquaten Bedingungen nach dem Stand der Wissenschaft.

Kompetenz

Für die Untersuchungen und ggf. Verfahrensanpassungen an Ihre spezifische Fragestellungen steht Ihnen ein kompetentes und langjährig erfahrenes Team aus den Fraunhofer Instituten ITEM und SCAI zur Verfügung. Wir bieten Ihnen...

 

ein breites Spektrum an in-vitro spezifischem Know-how an.

Publikationen

P.R.I.T.® Technologien wurden bereits erfolgreich eingesetzt, um die verschiedensten Fragestellungen zu bearbeiten. Über Projekte, die nicht vertraulich durchgeführt wurden, dürfen wir Ihnen in verschiedenen Referenzen...

 

berichten.

Angebot

Wir bieten Ihnen ein umfassendes Portfolio an Methoden und Kompetenz zur Planung, Entwicklung und Durchführung aller Themen rund um die biologische Wirkung luftgetragener Substanzen in vitro an.